Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share

(1) Constitutional Law: It is considered as the written fundamental law of a state, which gains superiority over the other laws. The Constitution tends to define and organize several functions within a well-governed state.

(2) Administrative Law: It constitutes a body of laws by which the actions of the Public Administration is regulated and organized. Furthermore, the Administrative Law may regulate the relations between the administered citizen and relations between the State / Administration and the administered citizen. Article 146, of the Constitution of the Republic of Cyprus, is considered as the legal basis of the Administrative law. Moreover, the Administrative Law N.158 (I) / 1999, as well as the Law on the Establishment and Operation of an Administrative Court, notably the N.130 (I) / 2015, both fall within the legal field of Cyprus Administrative Law.

(3) Tax Law: A set of mandatory rules of law, which constitute the second branch of the Financial Law. The aforementioned legal field is characterized by great autonomy and independence. The primary goal of the Tax law provisions is to levy and subsequently collect taxes.

(4) Labor Law: An autonomous juridical field, which has been traditionally considered as part of the Private Law. Labor law tends to regulate the labor relations.

(5) Social Security Law: A body of enforceable rules ensuring the employees’ benefits, when certain risks occur.

(6) Family Law: A body of enforceable rules, which govern and regulate relations developed within a family. Child’s Custody, as well as adoption, are matters which fall within the Family Law legal field.

(7) Environmental Law: Enforceable rules aimed to protect the natural environment by human activities. The domestic legislation, international treaties, as well as EU Regulations and Directives are considered as the legal basis of the Environmental Law.

(8) Criminal Law: A body of obligatory rules, which aim to deal with the criminal phenomenon. Moreover, the aforementioned mandatory rules prohibit and criminalize all the kinds of antisocial behaviors and thus protect society. Relevant legislation is Cap.15, namely the Criminal Code.

(9) Torts: A body of mandatory rules, which include certain provisions and clarify when someone may witness a wrongful act or an infringement of his right. The latter development may lead to legal liability and thus the defendant can claim for compensations.

(10) Law of Evidence: Any assertions regarding a fact or any material items that may be presented before a competent Court, so as to prove or to disprove an allegation. Relevant legislation – Cap. 9.

(11) Bankruptcy Law: A body of enforceable rules, which fall within the Commercial Law legal field and tend to regulate issues related with the legal fact of bankruptcy. Moreover, the collective financial redress of the creditors is considered as one of the primary goals of the Bankruptcy Law. Relevant legislation – Cap.5. As far as the insolvency procedure is concerned, exclusively deals with the liquidation of the assets of a legal entity, when the latter is deemed as insolvent and thus unable to pay its debts. The insolvency procedure, primarily takes place for the benefit of the creditors.

(12) Trusts: A particular agreement, widely used within the Common Law countries. According to the relevant domestic legislation, a trust might be established by a settlor and the assets of the trust may be held by one or more trustees, in favor of the beneficiary.

(13) Banking Law: The main legal framework that regulates banking activities in Cyprus is considered to be, the Central Bank Law, on the one hand and the Banking Law, on the other. The latter constitutes a body of enforceable rules that enclose provisions related with banking activities, such as deposits, loans etc.

(14) Land Law: A mandatory set of rules that impose exclusive rights over a property that is considered as an immovable one. Relevant legislation – Cap.224.

(15) Inheritage Law: A body of rules aimed to regulate the property rights of the successors, of a deceased person. In the Republic of Cyprus, the relevant legislation is Cap.195.

(16) Intellectual Property: Mandatory rules of law that protect, patents, copyright and trademarks. Through such legal protection, creators may gain recognition or financial benefit from what they have invented or created.

(17) Corporate Law: A body of enforceable rules, which enclose provisions regarding the establishment of companies, as well as the internal relations of partners and/or shareholders. Cap. 113, is the relevant legislation in the Republic of Cyprus.

(18) Maritime Law: A body of mandatory rules that governs private business or other matters related with the shipping of goods.

(19) Contract Law: An agreement, which creates mutually acceptable obligations, enforceable by law. The necessary elements of a valid agreement are: mutual assent, consideration, capacity, and legality. Relevant legislation – Cap. 149.

(20) Sports Law: A body of mandatory regulations, which aim to set a legal framework regarding the sporting activities.

(21) Exchange Law: A body of rules, which govern and monitor the operation of the stock market, as well as the obligations of the brokers.

(22) Media Law: Mandatory rules that regulate the granting of permits, regarding the operation of television or radio stations. Moreover, the aforementioned rules provide the rights and obligations of all the parties involved.

(23) Arbitration: The procedure by which a dispute between two or more individuals and/or legal persons is resolved by an arbitrator.

Please follow and like us:

  • 0
  • Share